Top Test-Taking Tips for Elementary Students

For Kindergarten through 6th Grade

Week 4: “Stick and Stone”

on September 22, 2022

Date: September 22nd, 2022

by: Hailey Palella

“be kind to yourself and others!”

Terrific Thursday!

This morning, I was really excited to see the students and my MT again. Before the students get to school my MT and I will talk about the overview of our day. Last week my MT asked me if would be interested in joining an IEP meeting with her and a child’s parents. My MT mentioned that she would have to get permission from the child’s parents. Fast forward to this week, my MT got the students’ parents permission and I was able to join the meeting today, which was really awesome to be able to experience. Both of my brothers have IEPs so I know what these meetings consist of because my mom has told me but also I have learned about IEP meetings from my course work.

Just like last week I read another story with the students to get more comfortable teaching the classroom. This week’s theme was kindness and being kind to others. I read a story called “Stick and Stone” written by Beth Ferry. I have never read this story before and it was great! The author did a wonderful job appealing to students and using language that they understand. The author showed the true meaning of friendship and being there for someone through thick and thin. The student really enjoyed the story and said it was their favorite book that they read so far this year. After I read the story, my MT showed each page of the story again, reminding the students of what stick and stone did to stand up for each other if one was put down. Then my MT passed out a handout for students to complete that corresponded to the story. The handout asked students to recall a time in the story where stick and stone help each other in the story and show friendship.

I also helped my MT out with giving ESL students in her classroom a Spelling Test that they missed while they were pulled out for ESL instruction. It was really cool to administer a spelling test to them because I have never done that before.

Last week I discussed with my MT about my upcoming lesson and I feel really confident to start my lesson plan this weekend and begin to develop a great lesson for the students. I have become really comfortable inside the classroom and all of the students are wonderful and mt MT is just amazing. I couldn’t ask for a better group of students to be with!

I hope next week I can begin to teach or go over phonics and/or math problems with the students to get more experience with teaching before my first lesson day.

I look forward to another exciting Thursday next week! 🙂

Here is a picture of the story I read today:

Here is the template of the handout that the students were given to complete:

Here is a picture of a student work from the handout corresponding to the story:

posted on 9:42pm- Thursday, September 22nd, 2022


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar