Top Test-Taking Tips for Elementary Students

For Kindergarten through 6th Grade

Week 5- “T-1 Week”

on September 29, 2022

Date: September 29th, 2022

by: Hailey Palella

Fifth Thursday!

I cannot believe that it is already the fifth week being inside my MT’s classroom. Thus far, it has been a blast and I have really gotten to know each student better each week. Next week, I will teach my first lesson and I am pretty excited about that. For me, lessons plans are always so hard to write but as of now, I am taking it day by day and I know that I will do everything in my power to be prepared for Thursday.

Today went very well as I expected it to. I have really seen some of the students come out of their shells with me. When I first started in the classroom, a lot of them were shy towards me and then there were others that we not. The ones that were shy in the beginning are not anymore, wish I am happy to see.

In the classroom, the schedule stays consistent every time that I am in there, which is good for not only the students but myself because I know exactly what we will be doing that day. In a previous blog post, I posted my MT’s schedule; that schedule is only on Thursdays but stays that same way every Thursday.

I am very excited to do my lesson next week on fire safety and my outline of my lesson looks pretty good, so I am pleased with that. I talked more with my MT about my lessons and the outline today. My MT is the most helpful person I have meet in my life. She is truly one of a kind.

In the classroom today, I read another story to students. My MT asks me to do a read aloud with the class each Thursday to get more comfortable in the classroom. Each read aloud thus far have went really well and the students are good listeners during the story. The book that I read today was, “When Autumn Falls” written by Kelli Nidey. This story introduced fall/autumn to the students, showing them the differences between the seasons. I have never read this book before and I really enjoyed it. Throughout the story, I asked more questions than the previous read aloud and I was really pleased with the responses that I got from the students. Below is an image of the book I read today.

A couple weeks ago, I mentioned in my blog post that I was taking notes of some of my MT’s classroom management strategies and certain things that she does in the classroom, so that when I have to do my lesson, then I can use the same language as her, so the students do not get confused. Today, I took more specific notes on how my MT taught Math because I a few short weeks I will have to teach Math as well. I took a picture of one of the word problems that the students and my MT went over today. Below is the picture. When I get closer to my Math lesson, I will keep this image in mind, so I remember how my MT modeled during her instruction.

Below are additional pictures that I took today!

I took this picture for me to remember different ideas that I can do during my lesson.
My MT read this story earlier in the week and had the students do a character booklet today.

Really good book!! My MT quickly read through it again today in order for students to remember the characters in the story.

Today was wonderful as always and I am excited to teach my lesson next week!

posted at 5:07pm- Thursday, September 29th, 2022


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar