Top Test-Taking Tips for Elementary Students

For Kindergarten through 6th Grade

Week 6- “Lesson Day: Fire Safety Tips”

on October 6, 2022

Date: October 6th, 2022

by: Hailey Palella

1st Lesson Day!

Today I taught my first lesson! Going in I was very excited and prepared. I practiced my lesson multiple times for teaching it and I was very pleased with the result of my lesson plan, materials, and assessment checklist. Although, creating a lesson plan, gathering materials, and designing an assessment checklist is hard and time consuming. I am glad to be one step closer to student teaching! After this one, I teach four more times and then I move onto student teaching which is very exciting!

below is my lesson plan outline:

Introduction:  First, I will be reviewing what the students learned the day before/discuss fire safety (review), then I am going to pose the question, “what causes fires” to students and show them examples of what causes fires. I have made a premade PowerPoint showing five causes of fires which include, candles, lightning, cooking-stove, gasoline, and barbecue pit. I will show the PowerPoint to the students after calling on a few of them to answer the question.

Direct Instruction: Next, I will be using the scenario cards that my MT provided me! I am very thankful for that!! 😊 I am going to try to do 3-5 cards. I am going to do 1 whole group and then do 2 or 3 and have the students turn and talk, and 1 person per group share.

Guided Practice: Next, I am going to have the students brainstorm fire safety tips (anchor chart paper) and introduce vocabulary (premade document) I plan to add to it, if they students give vocab words that are not on there. Then, I will implement a quick interactive google slide on stop, drop, and roll (which is one of the vocabulary terms I have listed on the document) and then afterwards we will go back and underline important vocabulary terms, foreshadowing independent practice.

Independent Practice: During IP, the students will work on a fire safety tip worksheet and refer back to vocabulary list (underlined words)

Conclusion: Lastly, I will have students state what they are going to do to make sure fires do not happen in their homes- students will report back next week and tell me what they did.

This is the outline that I followed during my lesson! It went pretty well! I was nervous that it was going to be too much for the students. I am glad that everything went as I planned, however I know that not everything will be always go that way!

Below are some of the materials that I used during my lesson! I am really thankful that my MT provided me with the “what if” scenario cards and the fire safety tip worksheet. Both of these very super important in my lesson and I am so glad she gave me those suggestions!

Student Worksheet
Teacher Example

P.S. I also read this story to the students during reading (before phonics and my lesson). The students love it!

I look forward to another great week! Now, I will be focusing on my literacy/phonics lesson plan!

posted at 4:50pm- Thursday, October 6th, 2022


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar